End of the Line for Junior Footballers!

End of the Line for Junior Footballers!

Colaiste Mhuire 3-10
St Pats Navan 3-6

Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar staged a late late rally to defeat St. Pats Navan and claim the North Leinster Junior A Colleges FC title at a cold and blustery Dunganny Meath Centre of Excellence.

The Mullingar team were first on the scoreboard through influential full forward Ben McGauran. Pats hit back with a goal and a point from the outstanding Brian O’Hanlon. Matthew Smith added to the Navan tally. Dean Ennis pointed for the visitors before Reid got in for St Pats second goal. Shane O’Rourke’s charges looked to be in control but the Mullngar lads hit 1-1 in the closing minutes of the half, their goal coming from a well struck Trevor Keena penalty. The same player added a point before the stroke of half time as St. Pats went in leading 2-2 to 1-4.

St. Pats extended their advantage early in the second half with fine scores from O’Hanlon (2) and Reid. Kevin O’Sullivan and McGauran kept Marys in the game until the Navan school got in for their third goal courtesy of substitute Joey Moore to lead 3-5 to 1-7 and looking good for the win. Minutes later O’Hanlon could have sealed victory but his rasping shot came back of the crossbar.

Like in the first half Colaiste Mhuire finished strongly. The score of the game, a monster point, from midfielder Fionn O’Hara ignited their revival. Substitutes Jamie Coffey and Shane Williams  narrowed the gap before they hit Pats for two killer goals in the final minutes. Kevin O’Sullivan finished a goalmouth scramble and a minute later McGauran completed a fine come back for the Mullingar school.

After the game Leinster PRO Martin O’Halloran presented the North Leinster JFC A Shield to Colaiste Mhuire joint captains Enda Gaffney and Trevor Keena.



Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar: Jack Walshe – The Downs, Daire Smyth – St. Lomans, Mark Flynn – Mullingar Shamrocks, Charlie Drumm – The Downs, Cian McCourt – The Downs, Conor Gibney – Milmore Gaels, Adam Treanor – Shandonagh, Enda Gaffney – St Lomans, Fionn O’Hara – St Lomans 0-1, Dean Ennis – Delvin 0-1, Kevin O’Sullivan – The Downs 1-1, Trevor Keena – Mullingar Shamrocks 1-1, Nathan Lynott – The Downs, Ben McGauran – Milmore Gaels 1-3, Adam Conneely – The Downs 0-1. Subs: Jamie Coffey – Multyfarnham 0-1, Shane Williams, Multyfarnham 0-1, Matthew Glynn – The Downs, Jamie Leavy – St Lomans

St Pats: Sean Brennan, Aaron Chinchilla, Jeaie Timmons, Adam Barrett, Mark Dowdall, Conor Farrelly, Josh Carolan, Edward Nash, Tom Collins, Shane Smyth, Brian O’Hanlon 1-4, Sean Kane, Matthew Smith 0-1, Robert Reid 1-1, Evan Corrigan. Subs: Joey Moore 1-0, Darragh Reilly, Oisin Martin