Delaney Mile

Delaney Mile


(Photo Left to Right: Marcus Clarke, Eoghan Moore, Ryan Sheridan & Matthew Kelly).

“There was by far the most exciting end to the annual Dr. Delaney Mile in St. Pat’s on Thursday (11th May) when by the tightest of margins Ryan Sheridan edged out Fergus Crilly-McEntee to win the prestigious annual running event.

The race began six years ago after Dr. Ronnie Delaney who is Ireland’s only Olympic track gold-medallist, visited the school to talk to the Cross-Country & Athletics Team. Dr. Delaney won gold in Melbourne all the way back in 1956 and was the first Irish man to run the mile under 4 minutes. To mark these great feats and inspire future athletes the school began an annual mile challenge in which the cross-country and athletics team take part.

Beginning in the back football pitch the race loops out the side gate  under the watchful eye of Transition Year students the athletes return in the front gate before circling the school for a final finish back on the pitch.

This year, with 6th year and reigning 800 metre All-Ireland School’s Champion Kevin McGrath out through injury, the race was wide open for a new champion. It was particularly interesting as both Kevin and his older brother Brian,  also All-Ireland 800 metre champion, had won it over the previous successive five years. Despite the expectation we were not disappointed as the race turned into a fantastic tussle as Fergus who races with Rathkenny attempted to pull clear of Ryan who also represents local club Bohermeen. Hanging onto the coat-tails were David Hawes and Matthew Kelly, both of Skyrne-Tara.

Despite a strong effort by Fergus, Ryan somehow managed to hold on and when they arrived down into the back pitch, it was too close to call. With Hawes and Kelly unable to hold onto the pace, over the final 100 metres Fergus and Ryan traded places more than once before a final attack saw Ryan take the day. So strong was the race that the winning time of 4.56.6 was the second fastest time ever recorded in school.

Though Ryan took the overall prize with Fergus second and David in third, in the other year competitions the results were

 1st Year – 1. Marcus Clarke. 2. Adam Boylan. 3. Robert Smith.

2nd Year – 1. Eoghan Moore. 2. Adam Canning. 3. Sam Hawes.

3rd Year – 1. Matthew Kelly. 2. Thomas Barrett. 3. Adam Carey.”




Attachments area